Australian Aluminium

There are currently four aluminium smelters operating in Australia producing 1.96 million tonnes of primary aluminium in 2011, of which approximately 1.68Mt was exported. There is also one smelter operating in Invercargill, New Zealand.

Smelter location tends to be dictated primarily by the availability of low cost energy sources, but is also influenced by other factors such as transport costs and the availability and quality of other infrastructure. All of Australia’s aluminium smelters are located close to or on the coastline.

  • Bell Bay (Tasmania) – Rio Tinto Aluminium
  • Boyne Island (Queensland) – Rio Tinto Aluminium
  • Portland (Victoria) – Alcoa of Australia
  • Tomago (NSW) – Rio Tinto Aluminium, CSR, Hydro Aluminium

Closed smelters:

  • Kurri Kurri (NSW) – Hydro Aluminium (closed in October 2012)
  • Point Henry (Victoria) – Alcoa of Australia (closed in July 2014)

Aluminium Map